//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Full Metal Jacket required Bar Exam viewing…not really.

So for the first two days, BarMax had me working on crimes, specifically criminal law and criminal procedure. My roommates (both doing their bar exam prep with BarBri) started with property law. Not a fun or easy subject to start with. Thanks to all the crime dramas on TV, pretty much anyone can tell you what Miranda Rights are, but how many of those same people can explain a fee simple absolute property conveyance? So crimes seems like a much better easing in if you will. Not to mention that while my roommates had to get up, leave the house, and sit in a classroom watching videos from 9-5, I get to sit in the sun in our backyard with coffee in hand. I probably shouldn’t rub that in their faces, otherwise I may wake up tomorrow and find a trash can full of water propped up against the outside of my bedroom door or bars of soap wrapped in a towels hitting me repeatedly in the chest ala Full Metal Jacket.

Which reminds me. One of the best parts of using the iPad with BarMax is being able to one minute sift through the section on inchoate crimes (most common example of this is conspiracy), and then take a break the next minute by opening up Hulu Plus or Netflix and watch a television such as the very appropro Law and Order Criminal Intent (one of those crime dramas on TV referenced above). Vincent D’Onofrio is great as one of the detectives in that show, but it was his role in Full Metal Jacket as Private Pyle that made me think of this last paragraph. It’s a classic from the mind of the late, great Stanley Kubrick.

And for those of you wondering how I can possibly be taking breaks while studying for the bar, I point to this article: What Bar Exam Takers Can Learn from Marathoners.

Yes that is the compelling evidence I use to make my argument, and I will vigorously advocate that position. Although I will not defend the outfit that guy is wearing in the photo. But back to my original thought. Being able to do the lecture portion and the sample questions at my pace in the location I deem most comfortable for the day is so far making all the difference in the world. And from what I gather from my roommates, the video lectures that they have to sit through in a classroom aren’t having the same effect.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Full Metal Jacket required Bar Exam viewing…not really.

  1. Are you getting paid, or receiving a discount?

    Posted by jim nguyen | June 16, 2011, 1:37 pm
    • Hi Jim,

      I’m not employed or getting paid by BarMax, however I did receive the app for free. I’ve posted the details about how this blog came about in my “About” section. At the end of the day, I’m working towards passing the July 2011 bar exam in California and I’m using BarMax to do so. Hopefully, my honest opinions and insights will be helpful to current and future students prepping for the bar exam.

      Posted by jason | June 17, 2011, 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets by me

